Wednesday, November 13, 2002

There's an interesting case up for review by the Supreme Court this week. I think it's called the "Children's Internet Protection Act" that was signed into law a couple of years ago. (It's always interesting how they name these things, to make it seem completely one-sided. "How can you be against this? Are you against children? Are you against protecting them??")
This law requires that all libraries have software on their computers that filters out "adult" sites, or be denied and federal funding. This doesn't necessarily sound like a bad idea on the surface, but I've been reading about it and discovered a few disturbing things.
1) Librarians are nearly unanimously against it. That should say something. And it's not just the splinter group "Librarians for Porn", either. Why are politicians so quick to ignore the people who should be the experts, and have to deal with the ramifications every day?
2) All the filtering software in use is pretty bad. It's just not any easy problem to solve. They use crude methods that end up blocking out a lot of legitimate stuff. This is the basis for the constitutionality appeal.
3) It's an extreme approach. All libraries must have filters, or be denied funding. It's not like they can't already do it if they want to/need to. Why not leave it up to them? What are you risking?
4) Is this really such a huge problem that legislators needed to spend the time and effort it takes to get a bill passed to fix it? Who's exactly is checking out porn at the library? Somehow I have to believe that there are more important issues facing our country.

The whole idea of "one size fits all", and "we know best, you must comply" is really quite galling and incredibly arrogant. It's the same issue with the "English Immersion" ballot question that passed in MA last week. It's not like everyone doesn't have the same goals - all kids in public schools need to learn english - got it, we're all on board, not a problem. However, the idea of strictly mandating exactly how things can be taught is preposterous, especially when it's clear that most experts can't agree what is best. Instead we will now have a law that if you as a teacher speak a word of spanish to a native spanish speaking kid under the age of 11, you can be sued for it. English Immersion isn't necessarily a bad thing - from what I've read it's been reasonably successful in California with kids up to about the 1st grade, and has had mixed sucess with kids older than that. But a rational approach to it would be a nice thing.

I really don't know why this ballot initiative passed so strongly, but I suspect that the opposition was misrepresented. The alternative was certainly not "teach everything in whatever language the kids already know and skip english". Sadly, there was probably some degree of anti-immigrant bias at work here. And also maybe the votes of some thoughtful individuals who's worldview consists of "my grandparents got off the boat from Slokovanopotamia not knowing a word of english, and they didn't get any bilingual education. They had to figure it all out on their own, so that's how everyone else should have it." The argument that "Things were once very hard, so let's not try to do any better" is indisputable.
I was thinking a great business idea for the upcoming tax season would be a combination bar and H&R Block. I'm certain there are lots of people who would enjoy having a few drinks while waiting for their taxes to get done. And it'd be an opportunity to create all these painfully unfunny tax-themed cocktails, the "brain cell exemption", etc. Of course you'd also have to always use preposterous tax jargon that would be so far from funny, it might actually loop back around to really being funny. As the boss, I would just be waiting for the day I could say to one of my employees: "Better grab a mop - Someone filed a schedule V in the men's room."

Sunday, November 10, 2002

As timely as the headlines from, errr, umm, earlier in the week - here's my all important "Election Breakdown":
I believe Shannon O'Brien lost the MA governor's race because of two factors 1) She failed to successfully deflect the charges that she would one way or another end up raising taxes, and 2) her somewhat abrasive and annoying personality. Reason number one was just clearly a failing of her campaign. The Mittster successfully labeled her as a tax hike waiting to happen, and she just didn't successfully convince the voters otherwise. Reason number two is perhaps more unfortunate. Yes, she was sometimes difficult to watch in the debates with her irritating smirks, and clearly she is a tough, aggressive woman. However, just because it is possible she isn't the most likeable person on the planet doesn't preclude her from becoming a strong governor. In some way, maybe it'd be a plus. It's a shame that the skills one needs to become elected are probably the opposite of those one needs to govern well. It's clear that her views on most of the issues are far closer to the average voter than those of the Governor-Elect. That should mean something, shouldn't it?


I didn't know anything about my favorite candidate in this election cycle until Tuesday morning when I was doing my final research on for whom to vote. The best candidate this year was Republican for State Treasurer Dan Grabauskas . I am generally not inclined to vote Republican in most cases, and treasurer is not exactly the most thrilling race, but I learned that he was the person responsible for the sweeping reforms at the Registry of Motor Vehicles. He's been the head of that agency since 1999, and implemented the ticket & queuing system that makes it actually a reasonable proposition that you can accomplish something at a Registry Office without being there all day. Fixing the registry should rate some kind of Nobel Prize for openers. He earned the nominations of the leading so-called "left-leaning" publications in town (Globe & Phoenix) over the Democratic candidate, which is certainly unusual and noteworthy. I think fixing the registry should be worthy of a Nobel prize.

His opponent, who unfortunately won, seemed to have as his primary campaigning weapons 1) a D next to his name, and 2) a TV ad highlighted by his overly cute 10 year old daughter spouting his campaign slogan of her own creation - "Tim for Treasurer".

So that's what it takes. Budding politicos, make note.

Sunday, September 29, 2002

Here's a fascinating fact for you: I was born on the exact same day as television legend Jill Whelan. Apparently, some people find her annoying.

Saturday, September 28, 2002

This is truly sad, I actually just spent 15 minutes of my time on this planet watching other people play video games on TV. The Digital Cable universe is a disturbing place. There is a channel called G4 dedicated exclusively to video games. There was a Halo tournament happening on tv, hosted by Wil Wheaton of Star Trek fame.

Friday, September 27, 2002

Ok, this is a beyond pointless comment, but I can't help but wonder what entertainment need is filled by VH1 Classic, now available on a digital cable hookup near you. Does anyone really feel compelled to revisit the video oeuvre of Billy Squire?

Saturday, August 10, 2002

Ah, caffeine. It motivates one in ways that nothing else can. So I'm looking up references on my new favorite artist Joel Phelps and I came across an interesting site for connecting musical taste called gnod.net a.k.a. "global network of dreams .. even if you don't know what you are looking for - gnod will find it" It seems pretty cool. Maybe it's not so different from how amazon or any other site catalogs tastes and makes recommendations, but it seems more interesting since it does it graphically by plotting related music on at x/y axis.

Thursday, April 04, 2002

The other day I made my first post ever to Slashdot.org aka "News for nerds, stuff that matters". Most of the stuff is far too techy for me, but there are often items that interest me. There was an article/discussion about some freaky science nut claiming to be working on an anti-gravity device. This particular guy had been specifically mentioned in a good book I'd just read called Voodoo Science, so i contributed that. Yep, so now I'm officially a nerd, however low ranking I am. As if that were ever in doubt, I suppose.
First in a continuing series? Perhaps. Anyway, here's a Dave recommends: Skinny Cow lowfat ice cream. Yeah, it's good stuff. Expensive, though! The vanilla ice cream sandwiches are most outstanding, though I'm not crazy about the chocolate ones for some reason. Also, the fudge bars are excellent - very cocoa-y!
Here's a rather interesting article from the NY Times magazine about the beef industry. There was a lot of information that I had heard before, but after reading it again in this form, I may actually retain it. Yeah, yeah, it makes you not want to eat beef, sort of, at least for a while. But it also makes me want to support more natural forms of beef production, where the steer are actually fed grain instead of corn, and not pumped full of steriods and antibiotics. Is there such a thing as organic beef? Time to check out the ole bread & circus, methinks. It's worth paying more for old fashion, healthy meat.
Ticketmaster is an evil institution. This isn't news to anyone, I'm sure. Their monopolistic practices and exorbitant fees are legendary. But perhaps even worse is the fact that they aren't even competent at what they do. I'm annoyed since I purchased White Stripes tickets weeks ago over the web, and apparently they lost my order. Customer service was a nightmare itself, it took a tremendous effort just to talk to someone who couldn't help me. Several times I was transferred from voice mail hell into a non-existent phone system and disconnected. What fun!!

Thursday, February 14, 2002

I recently discovered the most amazing place - it's called a "library". Here's the deal: they have all these books, - some of 'em you actually would want to read - and they let you just borrow them. It's like this - you go there, pick a book, take it home, read it, and all you have to do is return it when you're done with it. And here's the completely crazy part, it costs NOTHING! They don't charge money! Seriously!! But wait, it gets better! There is apparently one of these in most every town, and they all share their books. So if you want to read a book, and the local library doesn't have it, that library borrows it from another library and then you just pick it up! It's crazy! Basically, you can get almost any book you want. And there's more! They also have videos! All for the same deal, free!! Yes, I'm seriously not kidding! Admittedly, the video selection isn't as wide - they don't tend to have a lot of new releases - but for older stuff, you absolutely can't beat it. They have books on tape, and other stuff too.I can't even begin to understand why and how they do this, but I don't want to question it too much. God bless 'em, though.